My most awaited books of 2016

While I don’t generally make a point of only reading books published within the year, I do keep up with the book releases, and there are a few books I’m excited for this year !

The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater

The fourth book of the Raven Cycle series. It’s the book that will make or break me. I’ll get my hands on it as soon as it’s published.

It’s been a nightmare to avoid spoilers, especially since the first couple of chapters have been released, so I don’t want to take any chances, and I’ll read at the same time as everyone else. Besides, I’m very impatient to read it, so it’s not like I’m forcing myself or anything

 

Kings Rising, by C.S. Pacat

Technically, it’s already been released, but since I haven’t started on the first book yet, I think it still counts. I’m planning on getting it as soon as I open Book 1 so that I can read all three in a row. I’ll get to it within a couple of months (if that !). The opinions on this series are really split, so let’s hope I’ll love it and become obsessed with it. I’ll try my best.

.

.

.

Glass Sword, by Victoria Aveyard

Second book in the Red Queen series, the first one is sitting on my bookshelf, waiting to be read (as soon as I finish the book I’m currently reading). It’s good to know that, if I really like the book, I’ll be able to read the sequel pretty soon and won’t have to wait for a year. Recently, I noticed that I almost never start a book series when just the first book is available. I suffer from forgetfulness when it comes to series, and I’m always completely lost once I pick up the sequel (Delirium‘s sequel and Divergent‘s sequel made me feel like I was starting completely new books !).

 

The Queen of the Night, by Alexander Chee

Surprisingly enough, I first heard of this book when I took a Buzzfeed quiz. That’s the book it recommended, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that it’s actually a book I’d be interesting in. This book had me at 19th century and opera star. I feel like it’s got a bit of a Phantom of the Opera vibe to it, and I have great hopes !

.

.

.

This Savage Song, by Victoria Schwab

I feel like it’s one of the authors I will really have to watch out for. Vicious, while problematic for me for a bunch of reasons, was a great book, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy A Darker of Magic (its sequel is also coming out this year. She’s really been working hard !). This one sounds particularly interesting. I’m all for the dark-and-gritty.

.

.

.

(Hopefully) The Winds Of Winter, by George R.R. Martin

The release date keeps getting pushed back, but I keep the fervent hope that this year will be the year. I haven’t even been waiting for as much as other fans (having discovered the books after I’ve watched the first two seasons of the show), but the wait has been excrutiatingly long for me too. I’m debating with myself on whether or not I should do a whole re-read of the series (knowing that it’ll take me forever) before this one comes out. Anyway, let’s hope for the best and expect the worst, right ? That’s usually the case with George R.R. Martin.

 

What are the books you’re excited for ? Don’t hesitate to leave your recs !

.

5 thoughts on “My most awaited books of 2016

    1. Not yet ! But I’m reading Red Queen at the moment and I really like it so far. I was a bit confused because I thought it would be some sort of historical setting (it’s called Red “QUEEN”, I mean, how am I supposed to know ?!) but it’s actually futuristic, so I imagine some kind of Capitol society with fantasy elements.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

