Review : Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Becky Albertalli)

Title : Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author : Becky Albertalli
Published : April 7th, 2015

add-to-goodreads-button

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Rating :

4starshalf

IT WAS SO GOOD I WISHED THE BOOK WAS LONGER

.

• my thoughts •

.

“I have to meet him. I don’t think I can keep this up. I don’t care if it ruins everything. I’m this close to making out with my laptop screen.”

This book … It’s literally the cutest thing I could ever get my hands on ! And I couldn’t be happier, because I didn’t really want to read this book in the first place : it’s the sort of contemporary YA book that I’ve kind of gave up on, because I feel like I’ve, somehow, grown away from all this and because it was the cool thing to do ; the plot is so obviously centred around the romance, which is never something that I actively seek out if I can help it, whether it’s gay, straight or otherwise (background romance with a lot of surrounding plot is perfectly fine, but full-on romance from start to finish is something that I really struggle to swallow) ; and despite the fact that I usually like some darkness and grit in my fictions, I had this horrible feeling that the whole thing would end up with a sort of “catfish reveal” which I wasn’t looking forward to (queer kids are allowed to have happy stories too !).

But, nope. I was entirely wrong, and if more YA books were like this, I would just get sucked back in again right away.

To tell you the truth, it’s the first book in a looooong time that gave me that feeling. The one when you’re so eager to know what happens next, when you can’t put the book down for one moment, but when you also don’t want it to end too soon. I felt the need to pace myself, and then I thought better because I would only have tortured myself if I hadn’t kept reading. I seriously couldn’t put it down, and I completely discarded the movie that I wanted to watch last night so that I could continue reading. I was having dinner while reading ! That’s how much I was into this book.

The story is beyond cute, it’s funny, like, laugh-out-loud funny, you grow fond of the characters so quickly, and Simon is a fucking delight. Just please, babe, stop saying “the Tumblr”, you’re hurting me. The romance is this sort of really fluffy romance, but their relationship is really deep, too. It’s just proof that I’m not hell-bent on always hating romance (only most of the time). The reason that I’m so reluctant on reading romance is that most authors don’t write those stories in a way that appeals to me, but when I find authors who manage to grab my attention from the beginning, and succeed in keeping it, then I’m right there, right on board from the very first page and I’m never jumping ship.

(I also kind of spoiled the plot and the big reveal for myself because, just like Simon, Google is my best friend and my worst enemy, and I’m usually too curious to stay away – even if, in that case, I wasn’t looking to know who Blue was. But, I think, if it spoiled the surprise for me, I don’t think I lost too much. Actually, I was more aware, more observant, and I didn’t let any little glimpse go by without me catching it.)

And I really wish this book was 300-pages longer.

To sum it all up in one go, go grab this book. It’s the kind of book that will make you happy. The biggest result, the greatest outcome, the best end, is to finish a book with a big smile on your face, and that’s what you’ll get. I’m writing this review with that stupid smile still stuck on my face.

.

2 thoughts on “Review : Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Becky Albertalli)

  1. I’m SO glad you liked this! It’s one of my favorites. I wish I could recommend more books like this, but I seriously can’t think of anything else similar enough. Becky Albertalli’s writing a companion novel, though! It won’t be out till next year, but it’s about Abby and her friends and family in DC and I’M VERY EXCITED.

    Thanks for visiting Lost in My Library!

    Like

Leave a Reply

