February Catch-up : First month of blogging and more !

February was the month when I finally took the jump and began on this book-blogging journey. So far, it’s been treating me well, I hope more interesting things will come and that I’ll share with more bloggers about the books I’m most passionate about.

Now, let’s have a look at the details !

previouslyonThese are the first posts I’ve put online this month :

.

– Reviews –

Uprooted, by Naomi Novik – 5 stars : an incredible fantasy story that sounds like an old and beloved fairytale

The Magicians, a review of the TV adaptation of one of my favorite series

Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell – 4 stars : an amazing fantasy with wizards and a new take on the Chosen One theme

Simon VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli – 4.5 stars : funny and touching enough to make my cold, withered heart melt

Shadowhunters, a review of the TV adaptation of the Mortal Instruments

The Once and Future King, by T.H. White – 3.5 stars : an epic retelling of Arthurian legends

Stranger, by Rachel Manija Brown – 3 stars : a YA sci-fi novel with a Wild West twist

.

– Recommendations –

Favorite romances from someone who hates romance : some of my favorite fictional couples

Check Please : an amazingly fluffy and funny webcomic

.

.

comingupThere are a few things I’m excited about in March. Mostly, there will be the Salon du Livre 2016, which is the French Book Fair. There are tons of stands organized by theme, discussions and conferences with authors and publishers, activities for the kids, and basically just books everywhere ! There’s even a Cooking Corner with tons of chefs coming to promote their recipe books, and cooking something for the audience (which they get to taste afterwards !). It’s really great. Every year, a particular country is chosen as theme, and this year’s South Korea, with about 30 Korean authors (and about 20 publishers) invited for the occasion. I went 2 years ago and it was amazing, so I’m very excited to go again in March.

.

.

inmylifeAside from making my debut on the book-blogging scene, February really has been all about new experiences for me, and not all of them very pleasant.

The bad one : I went to a Polyglot Night at the beginning of the month (although it feels like it was more than a month ago, just so you know how badly I’ve wanted to forget about the whole thing). I don’t know if things like that are organized anywhere else (I mean, probably), but just in case … a Polyglot Night is an event organized every Tuesday at the Denfert Café, a little bar in the 14th arrondissement of Paris. The whole purpose is to meet foreigners and/or French people so you can talk, exchange and, most of all, practice one or several languages (French, English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Japanese …). The concept is pretty great and that’s why I wanted to try (any chance I get to practice my English is welcome, especially if it’s with Americans or Brits), but it’s also what I dreaded. I’m a very shy person by nature and going up to people and start a conversation is basically an adventure for me. The moment I stepped into this tiny, overcrowded bar, I knew that it was what Hell on earth looked like for me.

So, the beginning was a bit bumpy. It didn’t help that there were probably a lot more French people than foreigners that night, so I ended up talking to French guys I had no interest in speaking to (including one who thought I was his psychiatrist, since he told me his every frustration with his shitty job … I guess, I’m the kind of person people feel safe confiding into, but it’s really not a good place to be for me sometimes). I did end up quite randomly with a very eclectic group by the end of the night (a Filipino make-up artist and her American boyfriend, a Japanese student, an American student, and a guy from South of France) but, by then, I was completely exhausted and it wasn’t enough to save the whole night. I’ll find a better way to meet English-speaking people !

The good one : I went to a Broadway workshop the other week ! I’m a musical theatre kid, and I’m taking dance classes every week, so when I saw there was going to be this workshop, I couldn’t not sign in. It’s taught by a former Broadway dancer (he was in Chicago on Broadway) who, for a reason I can’t quite undestand, decided that Paris was the place to be for musical theatre. It was excruating, though ! We barely stopped for the whole 4 hours : an hour of ballet warm-ups, an hour of Jazz warm-ups (super dynamic but, fuck, my thighs suffered), 30 minutes of vocal warm-ups, and then on to the choreography ! It was “One” from Chorus Line. A classic, definitely what you would expect from a Broadway workshop (we even had our little hats on !), but I would have loved to do something different (I was desperately hoping for Grease, since Grease Live had aired the weekend before, but no such luck). I’ll definitely renew the experience at some point, and even if my body ached for days after, it was so much fun !

And that’s it for now, folks !

Lots of love and see you next month !

signature

2 thoughts on “February Catch-up : First month of blogging and more !

  1. This is quite belated but welcome to the blogosphere, Marina! We’re really happy to have you! It sounds like you had a pleasant reading and blogging month. I adore Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and loved it as well. As for your night that was supposed to be a fun way for you to practice your English and network, I’m sorry it ended up being unpleasant in the beginning. At least it did improve and you met some friends! And I hope you have fun at the French Book Fair! I love Korean culture; that sounds like a brilliant event. I’ve only been to one book festival, which was Yallfest last November, but they’re always a blast. 🙂

    Happy reading and blogging,
    Summer at Xingsings

    Like

Leave a Reply

