Review : Kings Rising (C.S. Pacat)

Title : Kings Rising
Author : C.S. Pacat
Published : February 2nd, 2016
Series : Captive Prince, #3

add-to-goodreads-button

Damianos of Akielos has returned.
His identity now revealed, Damen must face his master Prince Laurent as Damianos of Akielos, the man Laurent has sworn to kill.
On the brink of a momentous battle, the future of both their countries hangs in the balance. In the south, Kastor’s forces are massing. In the north, the Regent’s armies are mobilising for war. Damen’s only hope of reclaiming his throne is to fight together with Laurent against their usurpers.
Forced into an uneasy alliance the two princes journey deep into Akielos, where they face their most dangerous opposition yet. But even if the fragile trust they have built survives the revelation of Damen’s identity – can it stand against the Regent’s final, deadly play for the throne?

Rating :

3starshalf

Loved it, but too much of a rollercoaster at times

.

• my thoughts •

.

“‘No. listen to me.’ He felt Laurent’s hand firm on the back of his neck. ‘I’m not going to let my uncle hurt you.’ Laurent’s blue gaze was calm and steady, as if he had made a decision and wanted Damen to know it.”

I had high expectations for this book. The first one kept me more than interested enough to come back. The second got me completely hooked. So, of course, I wanted the third and final instalment to be everything I could want, and at the same time unlike anything I have seen. Kings Rising does and, at the same time, doesn’t quite meet the mark.

Ugh ! This kind of books are always the most difficult to review. Now, watch me as I keep giving reasons why I loved this book while still trying to justify my 3-stars rating …

For me, this book is split in two parts, and both are not quite equal. They’re both beautifully written, as are the other two books. The plot is there, the pace is there, there’s tension and amazing angst, but … While the story progresses, the relationship between Damen and Laurent moves backwards, and I think it influenced my reading way more than I thought it could.

In a way, it’s proof of good writing and of how much I sympathized with Damen that Laurent’s withdrawal, the way he turned his back, affected me. But, on the other hand, the chess game grew to be a bit too much. Laurent always being a step ahead, too. It grew old. Like, ‘of course’, but also ‘seriously ?!’ at the same time.

I liked the second part of the book more. The barriers broke down again, they were finally back on the same team, at each other’s sides. Although I thought the ending was a bit rushed, there are so many things that I’ve loved to see : Laurent and Damen saving each other’s lives ; Damen growing into the King he was always meant to be, feeling the consequences of this role but also striving to be better than his father ; Laurent proving that he’s got what he takes too, facing everything with his head high and showing glimpses of his softer, more vulnerable side ; Nikandros was a nice addition, too.

I just expected more. Damen to be more in charge at his country’s fate, reclaiming his subjects one by one ; less plotting, more doing ; and generally, the ending to come at the end of a long battle. Then again, I shouldn’t be so surprised, in terms of continuity, it completely follows the Veretians’ preferred method but, no matter how sweet, I still think it was a little bit anti-climactic.

I does end way better than I thought it would, so there’s that.

2 thoughts on “Review : Kings Rising (C.S. Pacat)

  1. Nice review! I completely understand your points though I kind of ignored the flaws myself because I loved this series so much 🙂 As for the ending, I hope we’ll get some more of what you mention in the short stories she’s working on, one of which is a Damen and Laurent epilogue 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

