Review : Cinder (Marissa Meyer)

Title : Cinder
Author : Marissa Meyer
Published : January 3rd, 2012
Series : The Lunar Chronicles, #1

add-to-goodreads-button

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Rating :

3starshalf

A great take on the story

.

• my thoughts •

.

“Meeting the doctor’s gaze, Cinder found a glint there. Barely contained giddiness, like the first time she’d met him. ‘You are the miracle I was looking for,’ he said. ‘But you are right. It was not because of your immunity.'”

I love fairytale retellings. I love to see different interpretations of stories we all know : modern adaptations ; the characters’ roles are reversed ; it’s a princess that does the saving ; the princess saves herself ; the evil queen isn’t so evil after all and the cute, innocent one no one even suspected is a complete psychopath … I love them all. So, I’m getting into the Lunar Chronicles universe with hope and excitement.

First things first : I love the setting, the futuristic atmosphere blending in with the old stuff that are still standing, those things are my favorites. But, most importantly, I love that the story doesn’t take place in the US, or a futuristic version of North America. I’ve seen this way too many times and I’m always frustrated because, as someone who’s grown up and lives in a place that is not America, these stories always make me wonder what happened to the rest of the world. Are they still there and just decided to let America deal with its own shit ? That sort of stuff is important. So, I’m glad to see some communication and coalition between the rebuilt countries. Bonus points, there.

And the setting brings with it diversity, so actually, double bonus.

Now, I will admit that Cinderella is one of my top 5 most hated Disney princesses, so I was sort of hoping for a really amazing adaptation that would completely change my mind on the subject. And, in terms of characterization, this book succeeded. Whether it’s her physical modifications, her sass or her sort of self-hatred, I was all for it. Not that I want her to hate herself, but I think it’ll make her personal acceptance pretty powerful if we get to see it in the next books. I really hope we see it in the next books.

On the flip side, this book wasn’t constructed the way I thought it’d be. When you’re 3/4 into the book and the ball hasn’t happened yet, you start to wonder where the story is going.

And, unfortunately, there were a lot of obvious plot lines that are discovered 200 pages after you figured it out. I hesitate to mention it here, because I don’t really consider it a spoiler. By the end of the 12th chapter, I knew what the Big Reveal would be. It’s even more disappointing when each chapter goes by and no one mentions it. It was disappointing to have it happening on the last chapters. So, maybe a few problems in the pacing, and sometimes the awkward breaks of the chapters.

Also, the ending. I’m perplexed now, because the story stops at quite a determining, important moment and the next book will focus on Scarlet (Little Red Riding Hood), so where does this leave Cinder ? Will the stories connect ? I already know Cinder’s and Cress’ sort of do, already.

There are still a lot of things we don’t know but I’m willing to believe that all my questions will find answers in the next books. And, in any case, I’m eager for all the little intricacies in the different stories and between the characters.

One thought on “Review : Cinder (Marissa Meyer)

  1. Great review! I totally felt the same way about CInder – It was okay but I didn’t love it either. But I would highly recommend continuing with the series because I felt the books get better after Cinder. And the next book actually has 2 storylines: we get Scarlet and also continue the story of Cinder, which I personally really liked 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

